It Takes A Family

On Wednesday, May 15, 2019 at 3:00 – 6:00 PM

25th Observance of the International Day of Families and 25th Commemoration of the International Year of the Family

15 May 2019
3:00 – 6:00 PM
ECOSOC Chamber
United Nations Headquarters

UN pass needed to attend. All are welcome.
For more information and to RSVP by May 10th please go here


Video of event



One of the first policy documents to signal that the family has a role to play in development was the Declaration on Social Progress and Development, proclaimed by the United Nations General Assembly resolution 2542 (XXIV) in 1969. Since that time the United Nations recognized the essential contribution of the family to society and development more broadly, including by highlighting the importance of family policies to implement the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

The United Nations General Assembly proclaimed 1994 “The International Year of the Family” in its resolution 44/82.

The General Assembly recognized the importance of this objective of the International Year of the Family in the context of promoting social justice, social welfare, and the advancement of women, and has repeated these links on many occasions.

The resolution stated above all that the observance of the Year by governments, civil society, and international agencies should focus on the objective of “creating among Governments, policy-makers and the public a greater awareness of the family as the natural and fundamental unit of society.”

In its resolution 47/237 the United Nations General Assembly also decided that beginning in 1994, 15 May of every year should be observed as the International Day of Families.

This event will offer participants the opportunity to recommit to the objectives of the International Year of the Family and discuss best practices to protect and strengthen the family so that it can fulfill its vital role at the heart of society.



Invited Speakers

Mr. Tarek Tayel, Counsellor, Permanent Mission of the Arab Republic of Egypt to the United Nations


Mr. Jassim Sayar A. J. Al-Maawda, Charge d’Affaires, Deputy Permanent Representative of the State of Qatar to the United Nations 


H.E. Mr. Valentin Rybakov, Permanent Representative of the Republic of Belarus to the United Nations 


Mr. Tareq Md Ariful Islam, Charge d’Affaires, Deputy Permanent Representative of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh to the United Nations


Ms. Valerie Huber, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of Global Affairs at U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) 


Msgr. Tomasz Grysa, First Counselor and Deputy Permanent Observer of the Holy See to the United Nations 


Presentation of the Maximillian Kolbe Medal – awarded for long-term service promoting the Family


Declaration of Youth – Students of Oakcrest School, Vienna, Virginia 


Musical Performance – Harp Circle, Oakcrest School 


Panel Discussion 

Christine Vollmer, President, Alliance for the Family
“The Family in Latin America” 


Errol Naidoo, Founder and CEO of Family Policy Institute (FPI)
“The Significance of the Family in Africa” 


Michael Hanby, Ph.D., JPII Institute for Marriage and Family at CUA, Associate Professor of Religion and Philosophy of Science
“The Technological Assault on the Family” 


Joseph Price, Associate Professor, Department of Economics, Brigham Young University
“Household family structure and the macroeconomic welfare of nations”



Statements by Member States and Civil Society



Group of the Friends of the Family, Center for Family and Human Rights (C-Fam), Family Watch International (FWI), Concerned Women for America (CWA), International Organization for the Family (IOF), United Families International (UFI), Family & Life, Universal Peace Federation (UPF), Campaign Life Coalition, UN Family Rights Caucus, Well Versed, Population Research Institute, Ordo Iuris Institute for Legal Culture, Civil Society for the Family including Family Research Council, and Human Life International.


Group of the Friends of the Family consists of the following Member States: Bangladesh, Belarus, Comoros, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Libya, Malaysia, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Yemen, Uganda, Zimbabwe